Sweet Potato Quinoa Chili

Leeann and I love to use the crock pot. Naturally we were stoked to run across this compendium of crock pot recipes. Last night I tried out this yummy sweet potato quinoa chili to share with friends. This super easy recipe resulted in a flavorful and unique dish that was filling without being too heavy. The quinoa provides great filler for chili, although I wouldn’t say that you can taste the grain’s flavor over the sweet potato and spice.

IMG_1108Although the chili itself is vegan, I decided to treat myself to some dairy toppings–sour cream and sharp cheddar cheese–along with avocado, cilantro, and chipotle hot sauce.

IMG_1112Following the recipe, I got a chili that wasn’t too spicy. I love spicy food, so I added El Yucateco chipotle sauce for smokey flavor and heat. However, other folks felt that the spice level was just right without hot sauce. I recommend letting each person spice to their taste.

–Lindsey

Leave a Reply

