Leek and Swiss Chard Tart

Lately I’ve been going crazy for leeks. I’ve mainly been eating them in seafood dishes, but this terrestrial recipe caught my interest. I chose this Leek and Swiss Chard Tart to try a relatively healthy quiche (heavy on the vegetables, although it does sport a classic pie crust). I followed the recipe pretty much exactly, except that I did buy a pre-made whole wheat crust instead of working from puff pastry or tart dough. Also, I had to bake it for quite a bit longer than the recipe called for–an extra 25 minutes or so.

IMG_1139IMG_1136

Overall I was really happy with the results! The flavor was great, and the Swiss chard gave it a light, healthy feel. The only problem was that the structure of the filling didn’t totally come together. You can see in the slice picture that the filling is a little granular, and the bottom crust was a little soggy. Part of the problem was likely that I did not defrost the pie crust before baking.

Still a yummy success, despite the consistency issue. It will make a luxurious breakfast. Mmm.

–Lindsey

Update 1-19-15

This dish reheated very well, and a little time out of the oven fixed all the issues with the consistency. Next time let the quiche rest before serving.

Leave a Reply

